jump to navigation

6 Reasons Why I don’t like Facebook April 5, 2009

Posted by rebellyesrankin in Internet.
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,
trackback

I know, I know. EVERYBODY is suppose to like Facebook. Everybody is saying that Facebook is the last website to hate. I agreed. I agreed, but not anymore. When I left MySpace, I thought it was awesome that I don’t have anymore website to worry about. Then just like everyone who migrated from MySpace to Facebook, I got on with it and joined facebook.

At first I loved facebook because it was much cleaner than MySpace. I thought I was free from all the bad things social networking can ever offer. No more weird names, all “real” people. Yes. I know, I was psyched just like you when you get a notification. *sigh* I know, so is everyone else. Just recently I just realized how I got addicted to Facebook just like everyone. Facebook is the drugs of the net. It’s like drugs in a form of a candy.

So why do I hate Facebook?

1.  Applications. I hate applications down to my guts. I cannot stand getting 10 notification and being excited because I thought it’s someone important but its just applications. Some applications are just the most ridiculous things in the world. Facebook is flooded with applications that will NEVER make your life easier. They will only be there because they are. They are as uselesss as directions on your math test. I these so much that I almost wanna take drugs to pretend they dont exist.

2.  Super duper Details about what people do. Arghhhh!!!! DARN!!! What the hell is wrong with people? Every single detail that someone does get put up on my home for me to know that they have taken the most pointless quiz in the world. It pisses me off. Noone has privacy because everything you do is shown in ALL of you friends home page. The privacy setting is as useless as the Nutrition Facts on your favorite chips.  

Here is that it looks like on my page: [Ugly dude] just commented on [fat girl]….. [Guy I dont talk to] just Poked [someone I dont even know]…. [Filipino dude] just became single….. [girl not worth anything] is attending to a party….. [Asian dude] just gave a stupid gift to [the girl that never talks]…… [emo kid] is bored… [dumbest person] is a fan of [the worst band ever]….. [douchbag] just commented a photo with you…… [the cousin of a friend’s friend’s friend] just commented on [your backup friend]…… [the dude i hate] became friends with [someone from other side of US] because he saw her from people he should know……[someone i dont even care] just commented on the photo of [someone that he knows that I dont know]……AND THE LIST GOES ON…

3.  Pointless Quizes. This bugs me the most. I hate it how people in Facebook dont have a life to have the time to freekin’ take stupid quizes. No, I don’t wanna know that your a pickachu. I don’t want to know that your a sword as a weapon. I don’t want to know that your 99.99% STUPID. I don’t want to know that you heart is a yellow. I don’t want to know that you’re a Michael Jordan as a BBall player. I dont want to know the first letter of your soulmate. I don’t want to know what kind of fruit you are. I don’t want to know what kind of final fantasy character you are. I don’t want to know what kind of pet you are. I don’t want to know how innocent you are. I don’t want to know your horrorscope. I don’t want to know what color you are. I don’t want to know what kind of intrument you are. I dont want to know how unique your name is. I dont want to know how ugly you are. Why? BECAUSE I DONT CARE!!!  WHY THE HELL DO PEOPLE EVEN TAKE THESE STUPID QUIZES? If you take these quizes, you seriously have to get a life because nobody is going to notice how worthless you are…I feel so sorry for you, you stupid, wortless, little piece of crap. Your parents wasted their time making you only for you to take worthless quizes.

4.  The Stupid things you can do in Facebook. Can you believe you can do the most ridiculous things in Facebook. You can Poke, you can buy gifts, you can take quizes and other crappy things. First of all, what the hell is Poke? You get a Poke message? Wow, Facebook designers must be taking snorting something when they made the site. Also, you can buy gifts? Now they must be buying drugs when they made this. Take quizes? They must be doing homework while on drugs to get this idea. The worst thing is that there freeking wired useless mini games. I get messages to ask me if I wanna join their Poker Team. Or to be part of their digital “Mob”. Or to play games with someone. You can even compare friends. Yeah, you know, how some friends are friends and some are back-up friends…yeah you know what I’m talking about. All I do is ignore because its useless. People who are part of these are IDIOT who have nothing to do. Who know, you might one of them. You can even be a fan ANYTHING, OR EVERYTHING that exist. How useless is that huh?

5.  Pointless Notifications. I get notified because someone I don’t know comments on a photo with me on it. And I can’t tell you how it pisses me off when I get 58 of these notifications because everyone starts a conversation through comment on that pictures. It floods my notification for other important news(if there are any). I get notifications for someone freeking buying someone. Yes, I’ll repeat. Someone buying somone. Who is the person with no friends who came up with the idea to make something where you can buy someone. What a loner.

6.  People’s Notes. Okay, I thought Facebook is heaven beause it doesnt have bulletins like MySpace. I was glad because I won’t have to see worthless, time wasting bulletins. But instead I was met with Notes. Yes, Notes. It’s the “bulletin” of Facebook. It is the cargo ship for chain letter and useless info. My most favorite (I hate most) is the 25 Random Facts. I always get tagged for NO apparent reason. Then when I read it, it was Armaggedon in text. People post the most useless facts about themselves. Some on which I hope I didn’t read. My guess is that they made that because just like the same reason in MySpace. They either don’t have a life or because they pray that the person they like would read it. Praying that it would impress the girl or guy they like. But to no avail.

Social Networking websites are just like whores. You get them and enjoy them and get addicted to them. Until something better comes out. Then you leave that and you switch go to the new one.  Many Social Networking Websites have lived and they all expired and people left them.

Comments»

1. Andrew Johnson - April 6, 2009

I agree totally. I joined FaceBook thinking it was the “thing to do” But I have to say that I revisit less and less. I need an adult, grown up way of staying in contact and meeting new and old friends, staying in contact and networking to raise the profile of my products. I have to say that I am getting fed up with invitations to go to things I have no interest in, 3000 miles away.
Grrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr
………..and breathe………..

2. OneWorldSites - April 6, 2009

I have to say, this is quite funny…and quite true of my experience as well. But I figured that after Myspace this e-networking thing would be something to continually evolve.

3. Jay - April 6, 2009

I love you. No really I do ;) I HATE Facebook for the very same reasons. Well written.

4. texasheartland - April 11, 2009

I agree. I don’t even use Facebook anymore for those exact reasons.

5. Ste - May 25, 2009

This is all spot on. The quizzes are my biggest gripe, I just wish they could be lumped into one pointless application so I could block them all for once and for good!

Also those sodding fan pages. It says absolutely nothing personal about you if you become a fan of “sleeping” or “booze” or “loud music”.

Guh.

6. meeble - June 5, 2009

ALL TRUE!

Facebook is pretty much overrated. I posted a blog about it and added a couple more points on top of what you mentioned.

7. Stelios - June 28, 2009

well apparently you can disable those spammy notifications, or just ignore them.
The good thing is that you can find people you’ve lost.
Facebook is a tool to me, I aggree on the quizes and applications are totaly crap but some events and groups are very usefull. for eg.

There is a gathering about sth in my city. I didn’t hear it in the news, too lazy to hear on the radio too. but i always get my messages, my emails and check the facebook, so here it is!

I think Facebook gets crap if you have nothing else to do and play games and quizes, in this case, you do need a life, but don’t forget the other side which is extremly useful too

8. bgfjc - August 1, 2009

facebook is the gayest shit ever.

9. yayyay - August 22, 2009

Facebook is BORING! I can’t go on to Facebook without being bored!Does that make me weird?

10. overit - September 1, 2009

i hate facebook for the same reasons plus MORE! and might i add that your #2 reason is hilarious because it’s SO true! who the heck cares that you just took a crap! no one wants to hear that mess. it’s just a time occupier. I deleted my account yesterday and decided to seek out fellow facebook haters =)

i was tired of friends trying to be friends with MY friends who they don’t even know. stay the hell outta my damn private life!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

